Newlywed Hermitry

Oh sweet solitude.  We have been enjoying the calm for fifty days now.  Let me tell you, it’s been glorious.  We do apologize for the radio static, but very much appreciate the alone time.  It feels like we’re getting to know each other all over again.  The wedding crazy has worn off and we’re getting back into a normal groove.

That’s not to say we haven’t had any adventures in our two months of wedded bliss.  There was the World Series at which time any leftover wedding stress was released upon innocent (and idiotic) Cardinals fans.  Let’s just say I didn’t make any new friends in New Braunfels – home of their beloved Lance Berkman.

Halloween was low-key.  We had a blast handing out candy to the little trick-or-treaters.  Even got some Halloween decorations.

Next up was Wurstfest and my first outing as an official Wurst Brat!  What, what!  Wurst Brats in the hizzouse! (Please don’t relinquish my status now, Proff clan.)  It was another fabulous year of sausage-on-a-stick, potato soup, beer, and kolaches.  I think there was also music and lederhosen.  After months and months of watching the old waistline, it was more a German buffet for the soul for this frau.

Since then, we’ve been hiding as much as possible.  Getting the house back in order.  Wrapping up wedding stuff.  Watching hours upon hours of back-logged DVR.

We took thanksgiving off and gave thanks to laziness.  After I ran the Gruene Turkey Trot and took a morning nap, we packed up a picnic and headed to the lake.  Both of us naively thought Canyon Lake would be empty on turkey day, but we underestimated the hill country health nuts.  Thankfully, we eventually found a completely empty beach (likely due to the $5 entrance fee).  Good times were had and we soaked up the last of the fall weather.

My handsome hubby on Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving Feast

Stuffing my face (a.k.a. packing on the newlywed nine)

The next day we headed out to Wimberely to partake in a zip-line adventure.  Much more our style over black Friday shopping.  It was a nice little adrenaline rush to start the holiday season.  Expecting many photo opportunities, I took my camera instead of my phone.  We got some pretty great shots that we’ll never see.  You see, we stopped in San Marcos for some lunch on the way home.  The camera went into the console of my car and was never seen again.  I’m still hoping there’s some oddball story in which one of us sleepwalked to the car, grabbed the camera, and hid it in the house.  Alas, I’m coming to terms with the fact that it’s gone.  I’m also glad it was the only thing of value in my car…beyond pocket change.

Then there was a quick trip to San Angelo for Anne’s wedding reception.  It was great to finally meet her.  And Lord knows I love any occasion that allows me to buy a new outfit.

Now we’re prepping for Christmas.  And by prepping I mean watching a marathon of RepoGames on Spike and ordering pizza because cooking is too strenuous.  We’re hoping to get back to a productive lifestyle soon.  And by hoping I mean we’ll get to it when we feel like it. 🙂  For now, one day at a time.  I figure taking the trash out counts as a social activity, right?

So tell me, when did you all recover from your weddingness and return to the land of the living?

Also, keep an eye on my personal blog Pseudo-sophistiKate for randomness in my quest to gain awesome points in the game of life.

About pseudo-sophistikate

Hi, I'm Kate!
This entry was posted in Adventures, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Newlywed Hermitry

  1. Pingback: Who doesn’t like to pretend he/she is a giant? « pseudo-sophistiKate

Leave a Reply

